Connect with us


US issues another security alert in Kenya



In at least six Kenyan counties, the United States has issued travel advisories to its nationals.

The previous advisory, which urged US citizens to exercise caution in Nairobi on February 9, was issued less than two weeks ago.

In response to threats to security, public order, and safety, the Kenyan government ordered the deployment of additional security personnel in the six counties of the Rift Valley, according to the US Embassy in Nairobi.

These counties include Elgeyo Marakwet County, West Pokot (Pokot North and Sigor Sub-counties), Turkana (Turkana South, Turkana East, and Loima Sub-counties), and Turkana (Marakwet East and Marakwet West Sub-counties).

The other counties are Baringo County (Mukutani, Muchongoi, Bartabwa, Tiaty East and Tiaty West Sub-counties), Laikipia County (Olmoran, Ng’arua, and Mukogodo Divisions) and Samburu County (Loroki and Kirisia Divisions).

“The Kenyan Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government issued Public Order No. 1 of 2023 imposing a 30-day nighttime curfew in these areas. Per the Order, there shall not be public gatherings or travel in these areas from dusk to dawn,” the US Embassy said in a statement.

The US government personnel have also been restricted from traveling through the areas on this public order.

READ ALSO  Five Arrested in Lamu with Bhang Worth 250K
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Grab yourself a holiday Home

You can easily own one of these

Like us on FB

Copyright © 2023 Kenya Satellite News Network. All Rights Reserved.